St Agnes is a large picturesque village on the north coast of Cornwall. Historically, St Agnes and the surrounding area was the centre for tin and copper mining and, in the height of the mining period, had about 100 mines employing approximately 1000 miners.
In the 1920s, mining was no longer practiced but many of the mines are still open today for visitors. In 1798, a harbour was established and this enabled the export of copper ore and the import of coal from Wales.
In 1802, the harbour enabled the operation of pilchard fishing and this grew as an industry before declining in 1830.